J. Ralph



J. Ralph (American born, New York 1975) is a self-taught composer, singer, songwriter and producer whose career began at 22 with signing to Atlantic Records as a Recording Artist. He is the founder of the award winning production company The Rumor Mill and has written and produced the music for numerous Grammy winning Artists, Oscar® winning films, and The President of The United States Barrack Obama.

J. Ralph is well known for his documentary work including the scores to the back to back Academy Award® winning films THE COVE and MAN ON WIRE as well as the autism documentary WRETCHES AND JABBERERS by Oscar® winning director Gerrardine Wurzburg. In addition to writing the score for Wretches & Jabberers, J. Ralph also wrote and produced 20 original songs featuring collaborations with Antony (of Antony and the Johnsons), Devendra Banhart, Paul Brady, Bonnie Bramlett, Vashti Bunyan, Martin Carthy, Judy Collins, Lila Downs, Vincent Gallo, David Garza, Ben Harper, Scarlett Johannson, Nic Jones, Norah Jones, Leah Siegel, Carly Simon, Stephen Stills, Ben Taylor & Bob Weir.

His most recent film projects include 2011’s Sundance Grand Jury Prize-winning documentary HELL AND BACK AGAIN, for which J. Ralph wrote and produced the score, sound design and end title song “HELL AND BACK” performed by Willie Nelson and the score for CHASING ICE premiering at this year’s 2012 Sundance film festival. Using revolutionary time-lapse photography, the documentary is about National Geographic photographer James Balog capturing for the first time ever, groundbreaking visual evidence of the worlds melting glaciers and global climate crisis happening at an alarming rate. In addition to the score for CHASING ICE, J. Ralph also wrote and produced the original end title song “BEFORE MY TIME” performed by Scarlett Johansson and Joshua Bell.

J. Ralph’s music encompasses a wide variety of genres and mediums. He is a fellow of Yale University and the only composer ever to win two consecutive A.I.C.P. awards. Several of his works are included in the Museum of Modern Art’s permanent collection of film and media in New York City.